Seeking Perfection !

Perfection, and the need to seek it in every aspect of life!! It’s such an illusion we have created for ourselves, haven’t we? I have being toying with this subject last few months …What is perfection? Why is it so important? It’s so misleading? It’s so heart breaking? Why does seeking it bring about struggle?

The perfect job, the perfect dress, the perfect look, the perfect meal, the perfect vacation, the perfect mate…where did this need for perfection arise from? I often wonder what would have been it’s source cause even nature doesn’t support the concept of perfection. Had that been the case then why would the perfect looking lotus enhance the beauty of an ugly dirty pond by growing in it, why would the perfect looking moon have craters that would make it look imperfect from a distance, why would a perfect looking butterfly have to evolve and struggle as a caterpillar to be that beautiful butterfly in it’s right time.

I have been contemplating for long and I realized that perfection was intended to be evaluated not as a object in comparison but as an individual concept. What I mean it’s not something that is perfect but is that something perfect for you. This realization dawned upon me when I looked around at all my friends who I had considered to have been lucky to find their perfect mates. They were just so perfect together …I loved them as people…still on further introspecting I realized they were all ordinary people, with their strengths and weaknesses, they weren’t perfect in any way. They were like any other ordinary people I knew. Yet they were special and yet they together were perfect for each other.

That’s when universe’s little secret was revealed to me. Perfection was acceptance; Perfection was about loving things, situations and people just as they were intended to be. Perfection was intended to be beautiful and not be an object of beauty. To think of it Monaliza’s smile is considered the perfect smile…I can bet my life even Monaliza didn’t believe that she had the perfect smile. Just as we struggle to accept our existence, our situations and ourselves everything is really perfect in the moment. Everything that shows up for us in life is intended to be perfect for that moment. With every changing moment perfection evolves. Honestly I too struggle to seek perfection …but off late I’m realizing every thing in my life is just perfect for me in this moment, just the way it is intended to be. The more I accept this truth the more perfect my life begins to feel.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Seeking Perfection !

  1. Lovely! A perfect post 🙂

  2. Very well written. A “perfect” piece:)

  3. mehul

    well said ths post has forced 2 me 2 thnk twice thrice keep it up
    Cheers

  4. Varsha Morani

    Payal, I think this is Brilliant
    Even though somewhere I had heard abt this or knew it, the way you have written it is so simple and deep.
    A huge reminder
    tk u for sharing it

  5. nutsaboutlife

    Thanx Varsha…Just felt this post was ‘perfect’ to share with you in this moment 😉
    Love you !
    Payal

  6. venus

    beautiful Payal – Searching to put my thoughts in order on this and you did it perfectly!

  7. nutsaboutlife

    @ Venus Thanx …you thoughts were perfectly in order thats why you landed up to this post not many even know it exist …:)

  8. so perfect. it has set off a whole new interpretation of the world.

    you can definitely look forward to a poem dedicated to u with this title :D:D:D

Leave a Reply

